Through out my life my parents have really emphasized leadership, not only how to be a good leader but also how to put it into practice. My father introduced me to Boy Scouts at a young age and I have been active with my local troop in Helena ever since. I received my Eagle Scout on April 20, 1999. The next summer I staffed at a Boy Scout camp in Idaho, where I learned a lot about myself and how much I enjoy teaching. In addition to putting my leadership skills into practice with the Boy Scouts, I have also attended several leadership conferences.

The first of these conferences was a program put on by Kaplan, and was designed to teach the ins and outs of the SAT exam. It turned out to be much more than that. I was introduced to fifteen people from all over the world, we all became good friends and still keep in touch. During the summer of 2002 I attended two week long workshops put on by the National Student Leadership Conference, one entitled Business and Technology and the other Mastering Leadership. At these conferences we learned how to work with people in an effective manor.

My interest in technology began at an early age, however I didn’t embrace it until I was in high school. My first technical computer class was a class designed to introduce students to the physical components of a computer as well as the software side. We were introduced to Microsoft Office, and touched on website development. I came to college with the intent to major in English Teaching and minor in computer applications, but found that my urge to be a computer geek was too strong. I changed my major to Business Information Systems and kept the Computer Applications minor.