I find my seat, pull out my laptop, check my email. I see I have a new email, someone has followed me on twitter. I attempt to follow back, Twitter Whale. Great. As the row in front of me fills in I notice a name tag that seems an awful lot like the twitter follower. We greet and conclude that indeed he is my newest friend. Awe the power of social networking even as simple as twitter. Meeting people virtually, opens the door to face to face meetings and facilitates casual meetings.

I’m sitting here watching people pile into this long skinny room with the keynote speaker way up at the front. Mark Greenfield is giving a very interesting presentation, entitled the web as we know it is dead. This is something we all know, with the painful buzzwords like web 2.0 and AJAX blah blah. He discusses some interesting thoughts on where the internet is going and maybe what we should keep our eyes on. He mentions some fancy new things like Slingbox and Kindle. Some of the web tools he talks about are ning, a place to make your own social network for anything, qik, streaming media directly from your cell phone and ping.fm, push out your twitter, facebook, myspace from one place.

One thing that struck me was his comments about the word “audience” and it’s relationship to the web. He says that he is removing the word from his web vocabulary. It gives the impression of a monologue. And we are really looking for a dynamic experience. This concept is particularly important to us in the higher ed world because so many of us base our sites around “audience pages” (future students, current students, faculty/staff, international, alumni, friends/family) nearly all of the higher ed sites I’ve looked at use this concept. There will be more thoughts on this.

Some points.

  • People don’t just adopt mobile devices, they merry them – B.J Fogg
  • When choosing a technology consider the Relationships it will serve over technology for technologies sake
  • Use an authentic voice
  • This social medium includes both the good and the bad you have to accept it.

His top 10 web trends are:

  1. The End of Print

  2. The World Network

  3. Virtual Reality

  4. E-mail is Sooo Dead

  5. The Read/Write Web

  6. Information Overload

  7. Redefining Time

  8. The End of Walled Gardens

  9. Community

  10. The Mobile Web