I have a couple of quick items to address that have been swirling around the Internet rumor mill, specifically from this Computer World article First look: Motorola Droid, HTC Droid Eris are risky for business. I purchased The Motorola Droid on Friday November, 6th and have been very happy with it.

  • “Worse, it appears that the Droids don’t support Exchange ActiveSync policies”
    • Not true. The default “corporate email” app doesn’t support Exchange ActiveSync policies. There are apps that do.
  • “Here’s what happened to me in real life, acting as a regular consumer: I was not able to set up access to my Exchange account on the consumer $30-per-month plan.”
    • Here’s what happened to me in real life: I was able to set up my exchange account before i left the store. on the $30-per-month plan.
    • You do NOT need a $45 corporate package.
  • I work at a major university and there are three folks just in my office who have had Zero problems connecting the Droid to our exchange accounts, plus countless others across campus.

My biggest problem with this article is that he rails on the Droid for lacking support for Exchange ActiveSync policies.  The Droid doesn’t lack the support, the app does. so get a new app. I’m looking into Moxier Mail.

I’ve heard far too many people complaining because the Droid doesn’t do things exactly the way they want it to.  The Droid is based on the concept that each application can be replaced if you don’t like it for example if you aren’t happy with the Exchange support, get a new client.  Ok, enough with the whining about Exchange support, or that Verizon charges extra for the Corporate Data Package.